engVid quiz
Quiz

Test your understanding of this English lesson

Test your understanding of the English lesson by answering these questions. You will get the answers and your score at the end of the quiz.
If you _______ me, it is better to live in cities than towns.

__________ seems to me that parents are the best teachers.

Choose the word that emphasizes that you really disagree.
I __________ disagree that money is the only way to define success.

"I think" is an opinion expression you should use as much as possible on the IELTS.

"To be honest", "if you ask me", and "personally speaking" are good opinion expressions to use when you write an essay.

_____________ many people think that same-sex schools are a bad idea, I hold the opposite opinion.

As far as I'm _____________, physical exercise should be a mandatory part of every school day.

"I totally agree", "I absolutely agree", and "I completely agree" can be used in speech to mean "strongly agree".

When you express your opinion, it is good to contrast it to the opinions of others. Which of the answers is an example of this?

You are likely to get a better mark on the IELTS and TOEFL if you show the degree of certainty of your opinion when agreeing or disagreeing with a statement. Which words are examples of this?


Next Question
comments
Comments

423 Comments on “IELTS & TOEFL – How to give your opinion”


Leave a Comment

Hey Emma, great lesson and excellent clarification :) and this topic is really interesting for me because in our university our teacher always said to us “Don t use I think” and now i can use these expressions when im speaking thanks for such useful topic By the way i got 10 out of 10 as always :)))

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

    I got 10 of 10,too;)

    Friday, September 27th 2013

      me too

      Tuesday, October 29th 2013

      i’m a mainland people,can i make friens with u?

      Sunday, March 9th 2014

        sure,nice to meet you!

        Sunday, March 9th 2014

      may i make friend with you?

      Saturday, July 25th 2015

      Great! it would be very nice if I can make friend with u too :) wanna have so speaking eng with me on facebook or in social media ;)

      Saturday, September 3rd 2016

    can i have ur skype id plz…i am going to give my IELTS exam on 26 of this month…so i am seriously working on this viedos but i am relly worrined and tensd…can any one help me in oral plz …my skype id karthik.reddy235

    Monday, October 21st 2013

    me too I got 10 as always (:

    Tuesday, March 25th 2014

Hi Emma,

Thank you for your lesson. I would like to stress out about using the commas. When should we use commas in a sentence? Is their a ruling or a good way to know when a comma is needed and when it can be neglected?

If you can’t answer this here, or not in full extend,(is the comma here right?) then maybe it can be the topic of your next lesson?

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

    Hello my friend,
    As you know,the semi-colon indicates a stronger division than a comma, but a weaker one than a full stop.
    General purpose of comma : Long sentence easily read by reader .
    SENTENCES IN A SEQUENCE : example – Yesterday i woke up early,took a cup of tea,put on my shirt and went for a walk.
    GENERALLY comma is used in sentences that contain special words like WHILE, AS,IF(condition),though,although,even though,as soon as e.t.c.
    For these sentences,if special word is at the beginning with the main clause/phrase,you can insert comma before the starting of the second clause/phrase.
    Example : As he was not there,i spoke to her brother.
    IN CASES,where i want to give more details about something.
    Example : Punjab university,which is now in Chandigarh,India,is established before the partition between India and Pakistan.
    Besides this comma is used for geographic places,in direct speech e.t.c(formal uses).
    Whatever i know about comma up to now, i have shared with you.
    If you ask me,you can read thoroughly as i do for recognition of these things.And after sometime, you will know many new things(like about semi-colon).
    Hopefully it can be easily grasp and will help you.

    And from what i gather,your correct sentence is ”
    If you can’t answer this here or not in full extend,then maybe it can be the topic of your next lesson.

    Friday, August 16th 2013

      Thanks kushu, it did help and you put it nicely. I usually fall victim to long sentences without putting commas. I will try my best to take your information into account when making new sentences.

      Did you see what I just wrote? my sentences usually are long and without commas. I guess now, I should try to construct smaller clauses/phrases where I can put more commas in between them.

      Friday, August 16th 2013

        Dear friend,
        Whatever you wrote,is impeccable.Congrats!:)
        If you want to use comma,you can also it in this way.
        “when making new sentences,I will try my best to take your information into account”

        Explanation:(adverb phrase) comma (main clause)

        “what I just wrote,did you see?”
        Explanation: (noun clause==object) comma (subject+verb)
        ALL THE BEST! :)

        Saturday, August 17th 2013

      can i have your skype address please?

      Friday, January 3rd 2014

Hi dear Emma
This is fantastic class you have given us. Thank you so much for you simple and powerful way to teach.
These advices are very useful even for me who will not have exams but want to improve my English a lot.
Congratulations.

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you for this interesting lesson. However I have a question to ask you. I was reading an article and I saw the word “INSOFAR”. What is the difference between this word and as far as? Thank you!

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

If you ask me, this is a great lesson, and from what I gather most people agree with that.

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

This class truly is simple and nice ;D TKS

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

    I strongly agree with you.

    Wednesday, August 28th 2013

    Easy but very important.

    Sunday, January 12th 2014

    Renatinho hahahahaha. I could not imagine that you would become a teacher, awesome!

    Sunday, June 8th 2014

100!

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

    Thanks Emma! =)
    As far as i am concerned, your lessons are useful and funny. =) I watched all of them.

    And, if you ask me, although some people may disagree with my opinion, i prefer to learn a British accent since it is the true english that spread across the world during the ages of colonization, but i am loving also the Canadian accent. Especially how the word “about” is pronounced, which i prefer over the British one. =)

    Best wishes

    Friday, August 16th 2013

      Thank you! By the way, I read everything you wrote about you, Michele… And it was not a waste of time!

      All the best!

      Saturday, August 17th 2013

        wow thanks! it seems to me that i write only stupid things that no one cares about xD ahahah
        so it is good to know for me =)

        Sunday, August 18th 2013

    how did you get 100 correct on 10? lol xD

    Friday, August 16th 2013

Many thanks Emma, your class is very useful for who are studying English.

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

very good lesson

Wednesday, August 14th 2013

Great class!!!

Thursday, August 15th 2013

Got 7 out of 10.Not bad.

Thursday, August 15th 2013

hi emma
Some people may disagree with me , in my opinion u r a excellent teacher.thanks for your lessons.And i got 10 out of 10 :D thanks again

Thursday, August 15th 2013

thanks Emma. it is excellent lesson. really!

Thursday, August 15th 2013

thank you so much

Thursday, August 15th 2013

Thanks Emma, it was exellent as always. I am inclined to believe that these expressions will help me get high score on IELTS/

Thursday, August 15th 2013

If you ask me, Emma is the sweetest EngVid teacher! :)

Thursday, August 15th 2013

    I strongly agree with you, that’s for sure.

    Thursday, August 15th 2013

    i definitely agree with your opinion =)

    Friday, August 16th 2013

      Sorry, wolverine…I’ve made a reply to this comment in the wrong place…:) It’s up there!

      Saturday, August 17th 2013

        i have made the same mistake too on one of my comment xD ahah

        Sunday, August 18th 2013

          I totally agree with all of you. :D

          Wednesday, August 28th 2013

    Yes, your correct Janilza, Specially her naughty laugh and her big long beautiful hands on the board makes the lesson that much interesting.
    Having said that james,Ronnie,Alex,Jon,Adam and Rebecca all of them are also very sweet isn’t it.

    Sunday, September 1st 2013

    Yes, your correct Janilza, Specially her naughty laugh and her big long beautiful hands on the board makes the lesson that much interesting.
    Having said that James,Ronnie,Alex,Jon,Adam and Rebecca all of them are also very sweet isn’t it.

    Sunday, September 1st 2013

      Well…To be honest, I didn’t notice her hands! :) I just pay atention to her way of teaching,which I think it’s very nice. But you are right, all the engvid teachers are sweet… I really like all of them! Bye, bye…

      Sunday, September 1st 2013

    i truely agree@janilza

    Thursday, October 24th 2013

    Strongly agree with you Janilza.

    Tuesday, November 12th 2013

Hey, can anyone put a link to the grammar or explain how to use constructions like “YOU ARE LIKELY TO GET a better mark on the IELTS” in the very last sentence?

Thursday, August 15th 2013

    Likely to = probably
    You probably get a better mark…

    Thursday, August 15th 2013

    YOU ARE LIKELY…
    Active voice :

    You are likely + simple infinitive( to + verb )

    Examples…
    You are likely to get good mark in your IELTS.
    You are likely to get good present from parents.May be a new car!
    Also..
    He is likely to beat Jack.
    I am likely to propose Jennifer next week for marry.

    NOTE: in all these sentences,there is high chances/all most certain/Probable(as Janilza wrote) that subject will get/does something.

    Hopefully it’ll clear the idea.Personally speaking,for more detail,you should study INFINITIVE. :)

    Friday, August 16th 2013

      Thanks,
      that’s pretty clear now!

      Friday, August 16th 2013

thanks emma

Thursday, August 15th 2013

I’m very glad to have this excellent lesson! Thank you for teaching wonderful lesson.

Thursday, August 15th 2013

Very good lesson!

Thursday, August 15th 2013

    can i have your skupe id ?

    Wednesday, September 17th 2014

    nice to meet you. can i have your skype id to pratice speaking skill :)

    Saturday, July 25th 2015

although some people may disagree,from my perspective you are the best teacher :-)…thanks a lot for your effort

Thursday, August 15th 2013

I absolutely convenient with your lesson!
thanks Emma

Thursday, August 15th 2013

Although some people think that I suffer English mania, from my point of view a lot of passion and classes like this are needed to learn English successfully. Thanks Emma!!!

Thursday, August 15th 2013

very good lesson

Thursday, August 15th 2013

As far as I’m concerned, this lesson couldn’t be more useful! Thank you Emma.

Thursday, August 15th 2013

If you are writting something, it’s obvious that what is on paper is your opinion. So, I would start with the argument, instead to write “I think, or In my opinion”.

Thursday, August 15th 2013

To be honest, this lesson is very good.
Do you like this lesson. I am inclined to believe that you should listen it. I’m ablolutely it’s good for you.

Thursday, August 15th 2013

i got it!

Friday, August 16th 2013

……

Tell u the truth,u r 1 of the best teachers in my mind.I can not thank u 4 all ur kindliness 2 respond my queries,dear Emma!

I got :)
Wish u Luck as Always;
:)fatiima!

Friday, August 16th 2013

Very good lesson

Friday, August 16th 2013

yes, a good lesson. from my point of view, the explanation between written and spoken department’s were good.

Friday, August 16th 2013

hopefully satisified with your lesson , in future may be iam lern much more from your engvid
thanqqq u

Friday, August 16th 2013

In my opinion, the way that you teach is the best. Thank you Emma.

Friday, August 16th 2013

thanks Emma.

Friday, August 16th 2013

i do not know why my comment appear as an answer to another, but probably it is my fault. I guess because i refreshed the page.

Friday, August 16th 2013

Thank you so much Miss Emma, you are a great teacher.

Greetings from Macchu Picchu -Peru

Friday, August 16th 2013

Incredible lesson! Thanks for the advance Emma!

Friday, August 16th 2013

i like this lesson

Friday, August 16th 2013

thanks emma

Friday, August 16th 2013

As far as I’m concerned, it was helpful and useful lesson From a such fantastic teacher. Thank you Emma

Friday, August 16th 2013

I got 50% of correct answers and I’m really happy

I love this website so much
It’s very practical lesson’s
special thanks to my favorite teacher Alex you are the best keep it up…

Friday, August 16th 2013

hi mss amma, it seems to me your lessons are well prepared, thank u for your sencierly ecplanation,

Saturday, August 17th 2013

In my opinion, I think you are the best english teacher ever!! I wish I had a teacher as great as you in my country!!

Saturday, August 17th 2013

Hi Emma, thanks .

Saturday, August 17th 2013

thank you so much

Saturday, August 17th 2013

Absolutely important information! Thanks.

Saturday, August 17th 2013

it’s important to learn formal expressions.

Saturday, August 17th 2013

Emma you are AWESOME

Saturday, August 17th 2013

Thank you!!

Saturday, August 17th 2013

From my point of view, it’s a bit high level when the class is come to the IELTS & TOEFL

Saturday, August 17th 2013

thanks Emma.What amazing lessons!

Sunday, August 18th 2013

hey emma,
i got 5 out of 10 but enyway it’s good cuz i learned something new :)
thank you so much

Sunday, August 18th 2013

Thank you.it’s really help!

Sunday, August 18th 2013

you didnt teach so well, you did many repetitiion in telling about comma, and you look a lil bit nervous, seems didnt enjoy ur own teaching. but i like the topic you gave. thnkyou

Sunday, August 18th 2013

Hi Emma,
I am new here, but really shocked with the quality English you present for all the people around the world. I am so attached to this website that I have seen more than 100 lessons in one day.
Honestly, all of you are knowledgeable teachers and each one has his own flavor.
The second important thing is that you gave me an excellent idea about Canada; in brief you made me love this country and its people.
One last thing: how can I get your manual?
Maher (Dubai)

Sunday, August 18th 2013

hi my friends now iam increasing my inventory of vocab but i want to know how to use it in a correct way ,any help please ?

Sunday, August 18th 2013

Thank you, It was good

Sunday, August 18th 2013

Hello Emma. I have been watching your lessons since i had recognized this website . Your pronunciation and teaching way is serene to me.Thanks for a clean explanation!

Sunday, August 18th 2013

As far as i’m concerned, it’s a great help. ;)

Sunday, August 18th 2013

Hi Emma!

I feel blessed for having your lessons. I certainly, will take advantage of this website.

Thanks to all of you for providing such as wonderful source which is very beneficial to people like me that still are learning English.

Sunday, August 18th 2013

    May I join with you in practising English?….My Skype:Sultan.Smith2

    Wednesday, May 27th 2015

I don´t understood the use of (to what extent do you agree or disagree?)

Sunday, August 18th 2013

Hi Emma !!!
You so great teacher !!!

Monday, August 19th 2013

Thank you so much !!!

Monday, August 19th 2013

thank u so much for such a helpful lesson. God bless….

Monday, August 19th 2013

How to give your opinion and not “to think”? So easy with this lesson! Thanks.

Monday, August 19th 2013

Thank you, I understood to you. You teach very simple, I only have to practice.

Monday, August 19th 2013

Thanks you

Tuesday, August 20th 2013

dear Emma..
coming from a non-english speaking country like INDIA, your classes are indeed really helpful for me. thank you so much for these simple ways for presenting your classes. i would certainly refer this website to many of my friends.
i am preparing to do my IELTS exams in a couple of weeks.
GOD BLESS u and your team..
:-) i got 10/10 in quiz. thanks to you once more.

Tuesday, August 20th 2013

    Since your sitting for the IELTS your dear God will have to bless you more then anybody else, my congratulation for the 100% you got in the quiz.
    Fish you good luck on your IELTS.

    Sunday, September 1st 2013

      thank you so much for your wishes.
      i have less than ten days to give my exams.
      :-)

      Monday, September 2nd 2013

    I´d like to practice english with you

    Thursday, February 20th 2014

      I have yet to search a lot of websites to make me good at english language skill. However, at last I got this one in which anyone bounds to learn proper english to do well in TOEFL/IELTS. By the way, I should practice speaking if anyone finds interest.SKYPE: wasimmathdu

      Tuesday, October 27th 2015

Muy buen articulo para los que estamos interesados en rendir el examen
Ielts Argentina

saludos!

Tuesday, August 20th 2013

that’s great ^^ thank Emma ^^

Wednesday, August 21st 2013

Thank you very much.

Wednesday, August 21st 2013

9/10
yayyyy

question numb 9 is confusing me…

Wednesday, August 21st 2013

Thank you so much for teaching. I’m excited to learn from you Emma. I learned from you so much.

Thank you Emma.

Thursday, August 22nd 2013

thank you Emma for this video. Often it’s so hard to give an opinion for me and I canonot think out something to substitute something for “i think”. Now I know =)

Thursday, August 22nd 2013

9 out of 10. Good mark. But I hope to remember all when I have to use it.
Thanks Emma for the lesson

Thursday, August 22nd 2013

Very detailed presentation,thank you Emma:)

Friday, August 23rd 2013

so much, glory of Canada…

Friday, August 23rd 2013

so good :)

Saturday, August 24th 2013

Very good job

Many Thanks

Saturday, August 24th 2013

## I adoro this teacher and her classes. The class was marvelous. ##

Saturday, August 24th 2013

Really fantastic!!

Saturday, August 24th 2013

You are a GREAT teacher!! Thank you very much for this amazing lesson.

Saturday, August 24th 2013

Emma is awesome

Saturday, August 24th 2013

Thank you Ma’am, I strongly agree that this lesson was pretty much useful, I have a question about “I Believe”, how many percent of certainty it gives?, is it more close to “I think” or “I guess”?

Sunday, August 25th 2013

thanks you help me a lot to improve my language

Sunday, August 25th 2013

thanx alot

Sunday, August 25th 2013

It Seem To Me That Emma Is Best Teacher.

Monday, August 26th 2013

10 out of 10 great teaching sistem !!!!

Monday, August 26th 2013

Nice class Emma.
I’m looking for a class talking about “Would”.
This modal verb, in my opinion is a little bit confused.

Monday, August 26th 2013

Thank teacher Emma

Tuesday, August 27th 2013

100%
Thank you very much! :)

Tuesday, August 27th 2013

    May I join with you in Practising English?…My Skype:Sultan.Smith.2.May I get yours,please?

    Wednesday, May 27th 2015

From what I gathered, engVid is the right choice to improve english for free!

Wednesday, August 28th 2013

I am really indebted to you Mam. This is very clear and easy to understand. Keep it up the good work. Thank you so very much.

Thursday, August 29th 2013

Hello Emma,Thanks for the suggestions. I was wondering should our opinions match the opinions of the examiner in such questions if the grammar and writings are correct?

Thursday, August 29th 2013

Thanks a lot! :-)

Friday, August 30th 2013

Very very good lesson,
ciao

Friday, August 30th 2013

ah ha…I have got pretty nice 90%. I appreciate that. Thanks for your test.

Saturday, August 31st 2013

Thank you very much miss Emma, you have given us a very good class today ! Have a great day.

Best regards, from Argentina.
Javier.

Saturday, August 31st 2013

thank you very much,very good lesson

Monday, September 2nd 2013

thank very useful lesson! in my opinion.
it is more time to me that explain of my opinion who well speaking other.
thank you Emma~

Tuesday, September 3rd 2013

thank you Emma

Tuesday, September 3rd 2013

Very helpful lesson ..thanks
Emma

Tuesday, September 3rd 2013

thank so much Emma i feel good day by day with more watching your video and more practice thanks my teacher

Tuesday, September 3rd 2013

very excellent Emma!

Wednesday, September 4th 2013

Hi, Emma, I actually got 6 in IELTS and 440 in GMAT, and now I can’t go abroad for postgraduation, so I am so upset now, what kind of suggestions you can give to me: caojingdongsb@gmail.com

Wednesday, September 4th 2013

I watched twice this time . I’d like to watch everyday.
thanks

Thursday, September 5th 2013

thanks emma

Friday, September 6th 2013

I completely agree with you . Thank you so much

Friday, September 6th 2013

thanks a lot Emma

Friday, September 6th 2013

Grat work team.

Saturday, September 7th 2013

very interesting lesson. what I’ve deduce from your explanation that the intonation has a great role to differantiate between the written and spoken ways. because for me as a teacher or a learner of English as a second foreign lge there is no difference since I can be understood by my interlocutor.
thanks a lot
merci pour cette lesson . je vais voir les autres et j’espere qu’elle seront benifiques comme celle ci

Saturday, September 7th 2013

hi mam i took ielts exam last saturday.can u please tell me how much score i can expect if in speaking in sec 2 i miss to cover one sub question becoz of less time.

Sunday, September 8th 2013

hey emma i have a problem that i can understand you when you talk but my problem is how i can cater for

Sunday, September 8th 2013

In my opinion It was really helpful

Sunday, September 8th 2013

hi
I m learning english for 4 months and that I m pre-intermediate level now. please help me until i can learn english and earn good score for studing abroad (PhD)and i need to get 6.5 iltes …PLEASE help me please
email adress: s_bashool@yahoo.com

Monday, September 9th 2013

In my point of view, this website is appropriate for all of English students.

Wednesday, September 11th 2013

I strongly prefer you to my friend for get good score IELTS. Thank uu

Wednesday, September 11th 2013

Thanks Emma, it’s really helpful and worth watching this lesson.

Thursday, September 12th 2013

Wow. I got 10! Thanks teacher Emma. I strongly believe I can pass the IELTS exam.

Friday, September 13th 2013

Hi Emma In my opinion,The lesson is very interesting.
thank

Saturday, September 14th 2013

got 100 :D

Saturday, September 14th 2013

10 out of 10 :)

Monday, September 16th 2013

9 0ut of 10 not bad for this lesson… I enjoy her teaching style…

Thursday, September 19th 2013

thank you!

Friday, September 20th 2013

I got 6 of 10

Sunday, September 22nd 2013

This lesson really helps me thank you Emma so much

Sunday, September 22nd 2013

Thanks for teaching.

i like your teaching. i can improve a lot.

thank you.

Sunday, September 22nd 2013

Great lesson, many thanks…

Monday, September 23rd 2013

I’m strongly, confidently, totally understand.

Wednesday, September 25th 2013

thanks for the teaching! as far as i concerned, this lessen really help me a lot:D thanks Emma! you’re great! i will work on it!

Wednesday, September 25th 2013

Thanks Emma,i realy appreciate the lesson;

Thursday, September 26th 2013

Hello, Enma! I really enjoyed your lesson. Thank you very much.

Friday, September 27th 2013

8 out of 10 :) thanks,Emma!

Sunday, September 29th 2013

Thanks, Emma!
10 out of 10
Great lesson!

Tuesday, October 1st 2013

    Hey Lisa, I am Nawid and seeking to learn more about TOFEL and able to pass the test, so please help me and share some useful TOFEL Data with me.
    Waiting for your response!!!

    Tuesday, November 12th 2013

    Sorry i forgot to you give my email address, below is my email address:
    nawid_psh@yahoo.com
    and Skype name is:
    nawid.sh.1

    Tuesday, November 12th 2013

Thank you Engvid team

Tuesday, October 1st 2013

“I think” is an opinion expression you should use as much as possible on the IELTS
please help me I cann’t understand this part >>

Wednesday, October 2nd 2013

    the expression “I think”
    we must to use it in IELTS or not ??
    if you note.. in the Beginning of lesson the teacher put “X” near “I think” and tell us that if we use “I think” it will be boring and we will take a low mark in IELTS and TOEFL exams
    I hope my explain Profit you

    Saturday, December 27th 2014

Important matter, Emma!
Thank you

Sunday, October 6th 2013

Hello, Emma! Thanks!

Tuesday, October 8th 2013

I got 10 out of 10!to be honest,I strongly agree that this is a great useful lesson!I hope you’ll have more lesson!thanks anyway!

Wednesday, October 9th 2013

Hi, Emma! I have seen the video by the second time, then I thank you so much, again…

Wednesday, October 9th 2013

This one right here is gold. I am guilty of using “I think” too many times, especially in my emails. I am noting down all these different expressions so that I don’t forget.

I just remembered, in his keynote speech that he made in his big come back to Apple, Steve Jobs said something like “As far as I am concerned the war between Microsoft and Apple is over.” although don’t quote me on that.

Friday, October 11th 2013

I made this up just now, but is it correct –

I would argue that freedom is nothing more than a whimsical tale we tell ourselves to give us a false sense of security that everything is in control in a world where we can’t even control which side of the coin will face up when we toss it with our very own hands.

Friday, October 11th 2013

I got 100 :D
thanks emma

Saturday, October 12th 2013

thanks!

Sunday, October 13th 2013

Thanks emma

Sunday, October 13th 2013

thanks a lot

Sunday, October 13th 2013

Thank you for the tips teacher Emma. Indeed, you are a great teacher!

Tuesday, October 15th 2013

Dear Emma! I’m new here. But I liked your fantastic fruitful lesson Thanks million!

Tuesday, October 15th 2013

Emma, as fas as I’m concerned,You are a such great TEACHER!

Wednesday, October 16th 2013

thank u very much ..it is really effective

Thursday, October 17th 2013

Tks Emma very much, this is the the first time I’ve learnt English on Engvid. actually, Your lession are very useful and easy to understand. I hope that Engvid will have many lesson better..:)

Thursday, October 17th 2013

Hi Emma!!!

I am just about to take the ielts exams next weekend.. so i am preparing for it with all your videos i came across, in fact because of you am in here at Engvid, you are truly awesome, i love the way you teach and your expressions, i wish i was a student of yours.:( May god bless you dearie..

Saturday, October 19th 2013

Although you may disagree with me , as far i am concerned we should not use “i”in writting sections in TOEFL OR IELTS.

Sunday, October 20th 2013

Whoa! I got 10 of 10.
Credit goes to Emma.
Thanks.

Sunday, October 20th 2013

I got 10 / 10.
In my opinion not enough examples.
But I absolutely agree that the lesson is really effective.
Thanks.

Tuesday, October 22nd 2013

Interseting lesson for an old teacher to improve
and to renew his modest knowledge …Here.. I feel Iam learning

Thursday, October 24th 2013

i am going to give my IELTS tommorro any tips in writing task i need to get 6.5 overall for my Marters studies

Friday, October 25th 2013

If you ask me, Emma is the best teacher ever :)

as far as I’m concerned , this lesson is very good

Saturday, October 26th 2013

    Many Thanks Emma really really useful :) :)

    Saturday, October 26th 2013

Hi everyone!
To be honest, this vdo’s very useful for me. You guide me to use others word or phrases when I want to give my opinions. Next time, I will use this guide and avoid “I think” (cuz I always said that). Thanks.

Sunday, October 27th 2013

I got 100. Thanks for this lesson Emma. I agree with you about the overuse of the statement. “in my opinion.

Monday, October 28th 2013

i am inclined believe that you are good teacher.

Saturday, November 2nd 2013

Thank you for your good lesson. It is useful and interesting.

Monday, November 4th 2013

Thanks!

Wednesday, November 6th 2013

10/10, and Thank you Emma!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tuesday, November 12th 2013

Hi, Teacher Emma. I am Brazilian and I have been teaching English for over five year. I have use many sites to help me in my classes and your teaching are the best. The way I feel it, If someone be efforced, he can learn English just listening your video classes.I am doing this to prepare myself to the TOEFL.
Thanks a lot. Jurandir

Wednesday, November 13th 2013

Thank you very much.

Friday, November 15th 2013

i am really get benefit so mush from great EMMA and exam ……BIG Big biG thanks to teacher EMMA

Saturday, November 16th 2013

Emma please I have simple question depened on u notes u said that we can not use the ‘t for the formal so why u write as far as I’m concered

Saturday, November 16th 2013

It should be as far as I am concered right or not please

Saturday, November 16th 2013

I didn’t watch the video, but I went to the quiz directly and I got 9 correct out of 10. :D

Saturday, November 16th 2013

Thank you Teacher Emma.

Sunday, November 17th 2013

Hi can any one help me to develop my english i need to speek english very well because my new job so is there any one can speek with me in skype my name in skype ali ali

Tuesday, November 19th 2013

i confident that Emma is an excelent english teacher.

Wednesday, November 20th 2013

very awesome, great lesson and great teacher

Thursday, November 21st 2013

I got 10/10. Thank u so much. Before I watch your lesson, I think this word ” I think.” Is very good to give my opinion. Thanks for a great information

Saturday, November 23rd 2013

40%

Saturday, November 23rd 2013

Thanks. This really helps.

Monday, November 25th 2013

Thank you ms. emma, i got perfect score

Thursday, November 28th 2013

aha.great lesson Emma

Friday, November 29th 2013

Although nobody will read this comment, in my opinion it is better to write anything than nothing..and I am showing you that I am just one more beginner :)

Friday, November 29th 2013

    I forgot to write that i got 9/10 :)

    Friday, November 29th 2013

    I’m reading it!

    Friday, November 29th 2013

Thank you .

Saturday, November 30th 2013

i am perplexed, how and where to use although and even though. examples plz

Thursday, December 5th 2013

Thank you

Wednesday, December 18th 2013

9/ 10 good for me (Y)

Thursday, December 19th 2013

10/10 Thanks Emma once again for wonderful class :)

Thursday, December 26th 2013

I got 90% :(

Friday, December 27th 2013

It semms to me an excellent lesson! Thanks Emma!
If I say: in my point of view instead of from my point of view, is correct?
Can someone help me?

Friday, December 27th 2013

Hello everyone and thanks from your cooperation that you are helping us to learn English language as a second language and would you helping me to learn more?

Saturday, December 28th 2013

Thanks too much.

Saturday, December 28th 2013

I am interested studying in IELTS level.I mean advanced level. Please, show me the best way of access of good materials about IELTS, thanks.

Saturday, December 28th 2013

Thank you very much.

Sunday, December 29th 2013

I got 10 .

Monday, December 30th 2013

Thank you Emma!

Friday, January 10th 2014

My best regards to Emma.

Saturday, January 11th 2014

As far as I’m concerned this session is extremely important get good score in IELTS and TOEFL. As Emma mentioned it will give the reader about the vocabulary strength which we have.
Thanks Emma.

Saturday, January 11th 2014

Your lessons are always sink in. Thank you)

Wednesday, January 15th 2014

Thank u Emma, my dear teacher!

Sunday, January 19th 2014

10/10 … good lesson … Thank you… :D

Monday, January 20th 2014

Hi Emma,
Thank you…

Friday, January 24th 2014

really awsome!!

Monday, January 27th 2014

thanks. emma. Hope you create more useful lesson about conquer IELTS. thanks again.

Tuesday, January 28th 2014

I thınk , this lesson very useful for frogein student .. thanks a loy emma ;)

Wednesday, January 29th 2014

I thınk , this lesson very useful for frogein student .. thanks a lot emma ;)

Wednesday, January 29th 2014

Thank!

Saturday, February 8th 2014

Hi Emma thank you very much for teaching this class. Please let me know about another ielts lesson. I need to get 7band score in ielts.please help me.
Regards
Binu

Sunday, February 9th 2014

Skype ID ‘Huseynov.17′ ..—->If you want to improve your speaking level like me ,you can add me at skype for talking.

Monday, February 10th 2014

Great class, 8 out of 10 !
Thanks so much !

Tuesday, February 11th 2014

Hi Emma, Can I use these ways for writing?

Wednesday, February 12th 2014

Thanks Emma :-D

Friday, February 14th 2014

Hi,
I think…
again
In my opinion…
again
I would argue that Mrs. Emma is an exceptional Teacher. Yes.
Thank You.

Tuesday, February 18th 2014

thanks alot emma

Wednesday, February 19th 2014

i got 9 :) thank you Emma !!!!

Thursday, February 20th 2014

Hi guys i wanna improve my speaking comprehension, is there anybody can help me by skype please

Friday, February 21st 2014

I got 10 out of 10…..thank you Emma !

Saturday, February 22nd 2014

Hi Emma.
I like so much, the manner that you teach.
Congratulation!

Wednesday, February 26th 2014

Thanks a lot, Emma. Easy and great lesson.

Friday, February 28th 2014

As far as i am concerned, this class is good. Thanks for your effort

Saturday, March 1st 2014

Nice lecture thank you

Sunday, March 2nd 2014

Thank you, dear Emma – I have got 100%.

Sunday, March 2nd 2014

thanks a lot

Thursday, March 6th 2014

Hello Emma,I appreciate your great work.I got 8 out of 10.

Thursday, March 6th 2014

“i would argue that death penalty is the best way to deal with criminals.” —so,with this statement, do u actually agree or disagree? i still dont quite get it

Saturday, March 8th 2014

Good.

Monday, March 10th 2014

thanks
I have just Signed up for this lessons. I like it.

Monday, March 10th 2014

It appears to me that Emma did a fantastic job on this lesson.

Monday, March 17th 2014

Thanks so much for your helpful lesson, Emma :)

Wednesday, March 19th 2014

thanks Emma. It´s a very usefull lesson.

Wednesday, March 26th 2014

Emma, your teaching is amizing! thanks a lot

Saturday, April 5th 2014

add me on facebook.
seafreed@facebook.com

Saturday, April 5th 2014

Dear Emma, if you would ask me about your lesson and having an overview on several I sow, as far I am concern it is one fo the most helpful to become a better writer or speaker, in addition to have a clear guide for IELTS & TOEFL test. You became one of a tree most favorites engvid teacher´s I used to follow.
Many thanks all of you for coaching and teaching!

Tuesday, April 8th 2014

hi Emma
without watching this video i got score 7 !
thanks a lot ;)

Monday, April 14th 2014

thanks Emma :)

Wednesday, April 16th 2014

thanks Emma, in my opinion, you are anti-bad techer!

Sunday, April 20th 2014

90%
thanks Emma

Tuesday, April 22nd 2014

90%

accepted enough ofcourse:)

:)

Sunday, April 27th 2014

Hi Emma,
thanks a lot. Your video is very useful – as always :) take care

Sunday, April 27th 2014

hello……emma, i like your lesson so much, because the way you speak is so clear. by the way, i got 10 out of 10.

Monday, April 28th 2014

Hi Emma ,Thank you for your lesson. I like it very much !

Monday, April 28th 2014

Emma, thank you very much!It was useful!
You’re one of the best teachers here =)

Wednesday, May 7th 2014

Thanks Emma, engVid excellent concept

Thursday, May 8th 2014

Thank You emma :) it was really usefull.

Thursday, May 8th 2014

piece of cake

Friday, May 9th 2014

I am inclined to believe that this is a very helpful lesson for IELTS.

Saturday, May 10th 2014

forgot to mention ;.. “Thank you so much Emma” :)

Saturday, May 10th 2014

Thank you Emma! It was very helpful lesson.
I’ll have review and use them when I write an essay.

Saturday, May 10th 2014

Thanks Emma.. I got 90%…

Sunday, May 11th 2014

Attractive and very useful teaching , much important lessons , thanks Emma.
it takes me up to 1.00 AM , i forget that i have to go to the bed.
Good night to all .

Monday, May 12th 2014

It’s Great that I got 100 out of 100.
Thanks a lot dear Emma, your sound is very clear, polite, and intriguing.

Friday, May 16th 2014

Thank you Emma.It was very helpful lesson..

Sunday, May 18th 2014

Thank you so much. Their classes are helping me a lot. I need to improve my conversation skill, but i dont have anyone to practice and get fluency. God Bless you and don´t give up to your dreams. Jesus love you.

Tuesday, May 20th 2014

Thanks Emma that was very usefull lesson.

Tuesday, May 27th 2014

Very good video and great explanations. Many of spanish student often use “I Think…” we should avoid to use that expression completely

Friday, May 30th 2014

Thanks Emma,It can help me ;)

Saturday, May 31st 2014

Hey emma ! how are you i am your big fan can you help me i can’t speak english properly please help me ;) I will wait for your reply

Sunday, June 1st 2014

Thanks Emma. This lesson is so useful for me :)))

Monday, June 2nd 2014

Thanks you, Emma,
It can me to give the correct opinion.

Sunday, June 8th 2014

in my opinion you are the perfect teacher who i see in my life

Thursday, June 19th 2014

Emma thanks for the tips!

and…..omg.. you have a charmer looking! s2

Friday, June 20th 2014

your tips are very useful for me because i always have low marks in
writing

Wednesday, June 25th 2014

This video surely helped me a lot!! :) … And I got a perfect 10! :D

Wednesday, July 2nd 2014

great lessan! thank you Emma

Wednesday, July 16th 2014

THANKS EMMA. We have to learn by heart the expressions that can be used in formal context and the other expressions for the informal context.

Thursday, July 17th 2014

Hy Emma.I ve kept your lesson up carefully and i noted that when you use the 4 expressions to give opinion you use i think too.For example..to be honest, i think that….personally speaking, i think..so my question is:Have I always to use think ?I wait for your reply so i don t have any doubt.Thanka a lot

Thursday, July 17th 2014

I strongly agree that Emma is the best teacher and very nice girl)

Monday, July 21st 2014

i totally agree that your explanation and examples is one of the best i have watched…
thank you alot teacher emma

Tuesday, July 22nd 2014

thanks Emma I learned a lot from you.

Saturday, August 2nd 2014

Thanks Emma its helped

Monday, August 4th 2014

Hi! thanks you for your video! I want to know how should I introduce an opinion into an essay in the correct way?

Tuesday, August 5th 2014

Thank you

Friday, August 8th 2014

Thanks! It was awesome !! I also took a 10!!

Sunday, August 10th 2014

Thank you Emma. :)

Friday, August 22nd 2014

The course is so helpful, thanks to you Emma

Sunday, August 24th 2014

It’s wonderful lesson ,thank you Emma,I hope good luck for you.

Tuesday, August 26th 2014

hello,, i’m a new member in engvid.com ,but this web site usefull for me ,to improve my skils about how to be able and fluently ,be confidence to using english language…i will continue following this lesson..

Friday, August 29th 2014

good lesson, I believe, many expressoins, i hope use theme

Sunday, August 31st 2014

Hello Miss Emma! How are you? Ive been watching your videos in youtube and here in engVid. Im reviewing IELTS now in a near centre in my place and will be taking the exam next month. I saved a lot of informations that IELTS or TOFL examineers should always remember. Your videos are really very helpful for my incoming exam. Thank you so much!

Saturday, September 13th 2014

Hi Emma
I got 4 out 10 . really i have got marks very low but i will try to get good marks and i will read more and more relevant lessons. teacher emma i need to support me so tell me how in your tips how to learn or to be narrative English language.

Sunday, September 14th 2014

Your videos extremely help me to improve my speaking, as far as Im concencerned :) There are a plenty of helpful things that I hopefully will remember. Thank you so much for making these videos Emma, I really do apreciate that! :)

Saturday, September 20th 2014

Ahhhhhh
I just get 7 from 10 questions

thanks a lot

Sunday, September 21st 2014

Thank you emma

Saturday, September 27th 2014

I got 8/10 :(

Saturday, September 27th 2014

7/10 :)

Wednesday, October 1st 2014

Thank you very much.This lesson is very useful for me.Because I will have a toefl text next month.I want to get hign score.

Thursday, October 2nd 2014

Sad…i only got 7/10…need more practice..thanks emma..I find these lesson very helpful in preparation for my ielts test. Looking forward for more lesson. A key to my success..

Sunday, October 5th 2014

Thank you very much for this lesson, it was very useful for me!!!

Wednesday, October 8th 2014

thanks emma, very useful

Wednesday, October 15th 2014

thank you for beautiful lesson.

Wednesday, October 15th 2014

I really love this website, anybody wanna chat with me? just for improving english.

Sunday, October 19th 2014

Thank you Emma

Friday, October 24th 2014

Emma is the sweetest teacher. Thanks so much for your thoughtful lesson. It’s very helpful.

Sunday, October 26th 2014

Hello Friends.
Could you please tell what does the IELTS and TOEFL stand for?

Sunday, October 26th 2014

i got 9 out of 10. i like that expression

Friday, October 31st 2014

I got 8 out of 10 so i need study harder… :)

Wednesday, November 12th 2014

You are the teacher

Thursday, November 20th 2014

Hii, can u help me out in writing can u tel me where can I read good topics for writing in my toefl exam

Thursday, November 20th 2014

thank you Emma! It’s really useful to me.

Monday, November 24th 2014

Thanks Emma!
This class has been very useful for me!

Monday, November 24th 2014

Very good lesson! thanks Emma~

Monday, December 8th 2014

thank you Emma

Tuesday, December 23rd 2014

Thanks you very much…!!!
Hi Emma, i did ielts one time and got scores as follow: L-5,R-5.5, W-5.5 and S-6.5. (overall=5.5)
But it is not enough for target.
I feel very difficult in reading section as well as i am poor in wring section also.
I expect your kind advice…!!!

Thank you.

Tuesday, December 23rd 2014

firstley thanks for your efforts ,Emma,
Iam confident that yr lessons incereased my level,and advance it by leaps and bounds ,
take care Emma

Monday, December 29th 2014

thank you very much ,Emma .

I’m trying to improve my speaking and writting section of TOEFL test ,and your lesson did benefits me alot.

Wednesday, January 14th 2015

Thank you, Emma. It’s really helpful lesson.

Tuesday, January 27th 2015

Hello! I got 6 :s so I think I need to study more jaja. I would like to meet new people who studies English too.
We all know that English is the main language in the world, so if there´s someone who wants to practice by talking, writing, etc. I am available to do it.
Thank you! ;)

Tuesday, February 3rd 2015

    Hello,I want to join with you in speaking English.My Skype:Sultan.Smith2 & Fb:Sultan Mahmud Smith..Thanks for reading my text.

    Wednesday, May 27th 2015

Thank you it’s very interesting lesson.it helps me to change my ways when I give my opinion.

Wednesday, February 4th 2015

A very good lesson¡¡¡¡
Regards and thank you Emma.

Take care.

Friday, February 13th 2015

tnx……..great Emma

Wednesday, February 18th 2015

You are a great teacher!!

Saturday, February 21st 2015

love your quizzes

Friday, February 27th 2015

my quiz emma:
100
You got 10 correct out of 10.
:D

Monday, March 2nd 2015

Thank you a lot lovely teacher Emma May I ask you a question ? Can I use in my book instead of using in my opinion in writing ?

Wednesday, March 4th 2015

Thank as always
so good!

Saturday, March 7th 2015

Thank you Emma

Wednesday, March 11th 2015

many thanks Emma, it’s help me a lot

Sunday, March 15th 2015

Thank you Madam Emma.

Saturday, March 21st 2015

Thanks a lot!

Sunday, March 22nd 2015

Thanks Madam Emma.

Monday, March 23rd 2015

I strongly recommend this video clip to the people want to extend their English expressions!

In my opnion, this is one of the best clips I’ve ever seen on engvid.com :)

It really seems to me that this website is good for promoting my English skills.. Thanks all teachers! :)

Friday, April 3rd 2015

How to take lessons?

Friday, April 3rd 2015

It was very useful for me ^_^
Thanks a lot Emma. :)

Sunday, April 12th 2015

10/10 thanks Emma for your hard efforts i strongly encourage your lessons

Monday, April 13th 2015

thanks you Emma!

Thursday, April 16th 2015

I like this lesson. Thanks.

Sunday, April 19th 2015

I got 10 out of 10.Thank u Ema it was such a great lesson!

Monday, April 20th 2015

From point of my view,its a amazing lesson

Thursday, April 23rd 2015

I always use ‘i think’ when i speak my opnion. Today, I learn to good speak my opinion. so i am very happy. Thank you Emma. It seem to me that your best teacher.!!!

Saturday, April 25th 2015

if any one is interesting to practice english on skype this is my skype ID: reffis.salah
peace…

Wednesday, May 20th 2015

Thank you for your teaching.

Wednesday, May 20th 2015

As usual Emma taught a perfect lesson. Thank you!

Wednesday, May 20th 2015

got 100 :)thanks for the lesson

Thursday, May 28th 2015

It seems to me that Emma looks more and more beautiful.
Your lesson is always helpful for me.
Thank you, Teacher!

Wednesday, June 17th 2015

nice lesson Emma,
intrested to lestin more from you :)

Wednesday, July 29th 2015

thanks Emma,
got 8 out of 10.I strongly believe that i can do better from this.

Monday, August 3rd 2015

8 answer can correct out of 10

Monday, August 17th 2015

Thank you Emma! As far as i ‘m concerned, you are very helpful and cheerful teacher :)

Wednesday, September 2nd 2015

Emma! great job

Monday, September 14th 2015

I got 7 of 10 :/

Tuesday, September 15th 2015

Thank you Emma..Its very nice..

Thursday, September 24th 2015

Dear Emma, thank you for this kind of videos, they are really helpful. But, I have a couple of questions. In writing, is it better to write “The people´s lives” or the life of the people? And also, when you are writing an essay is good to ask a question within the body of the document. I teach english to kids, I could share doubts which, at the same time help me to understand many things. Thanks again :) my email is andriasofia@hotmail.com.

When I am writing essays arouse many doubts, I would like to ask you :)

Monday, October 5th 2015

Dear Emma,

I speak spanish, I have several questions to ask you and many mistakes that I know we make I would like share them with you. My email is andriasofia@hotmail.com

Monday, October 5th 2015

Topic: Have you ever visited a place you had left a long time ago and found it had changed considerably? Write an essay comparing and contrasting” the way it was and “ the way it is now”. Have things changed for the better or the worse?
The allowed time: 45 minutes

Moderator note: This overly long comment has been replaced with a cat gif. In future, please don’t paste your essays into comments.

Tuesday, October 20th 2015

Dear Ms. Emma,

Please give me your email so that i can not contact you for convenience.I’m sorry to say that I can not ask your advice for essay here

Yours truly,
Jade

Wednesday, October 21st 2015

Got 10/10… Thanks for the useful video. :)

Wednesday, November 4th 2015

Emma, thank you!!!!

Tuesday, November 10th 2015

i got 8/10…..

Monday, December 14th 2015

Very useful expressions. Thank you Teacher.

Saturday, February 27th 2016

thnxx dear…

Sunday, March 6th 2016

Thanks dear teacher (y)

Tuesday, April 5th 2016

Hello Emma
You are amazing in this lesson

Monday, April 11th 2016

As far as I am concerned, it is useful for me because You gave lots of important tips.

Thursday, April 28th 2016

Namaste, amma,, it`s a great lesson.

Saturday, April 30th 2016

I totally agree that this is very useful lesson.

Saturday, May 7th 2016

I got 100 :) thanks Emma

Monday, May 16th 2016

i got 90. hemmm

Monday, May 16th 2016

i got 90.what’s your score?

Wednesday, May 25th 2016

From what I gather,I strongly agree that this is an excellent lesson because Emma gave us lots of awesome tips.

Saturday, May 28th 2016

Im inclined to believe that watching videos in engvid.com is really a good way to have your english improved, Really pragmatic tips

Saturday, June 11th 2016

If someone didn’t watch these movies at engvid.com, He wouldn’t know this is a better way to improve his english than others. Although few persons who watched in this website may disagree,As far as I’m concerned,Watching engvid’s movies and Writing comments is very useful for improving english. I prefer the accent of Emma and Adam to others,It seems to that I just have a low lever of hearing now. Maybe after I learned all of Emma and Adam’s lesson,My hearing lever will increase to a high lever, At that time I will have a nice comprehension for other teachers, Then I would learn more the lessons of others.
Great job!
Thank you,Emma!

Tuesday, June 14th 2016

thank you for the great lesson =)

Sunday, June 19th 2016

The best way to improve our vocabulary is by changing the common words to some “harder” in the daily speaking. Thank you Emma for the new ways you just gave us to express in a better way our opinions.

Monday, June 20th 2016

can i have a review with you emma? i will be having my exam this 25th of june and i badly need to achieve band score of 7..

Wednesday, June 22nd 2016

this lesson is important but how many trick writing, have?

if you have specific pattern for Writing,
please send me a reference.

Thursday, June 23rd 2016

thanks Emma , it was a valuable lesson

Friday, July 1st 2016

I often used “It seems like…”. Is it a correct way to express an opinion?

Monday, July 4th 2016

i am confident that i will get a high score on this! lol

Monday, July 4th 2016

excelent lesson a learn very much.I got 90

Sunday, July 10th 2016

A very important lesson!

Monday, July 11th 2016

I’m completely agree than I’ll learn it soon.

Tuesday, July 12th 2016

got 80%

Friday, July 15th 2016

great..got 100/100..

Friday, July 22nd 2016

Thanks Emma. I often use like “I think, I believe,and In my point”, as you said, a little boring. It’s really helpful to write IELTS Writing Test.

Friday, July 22nd 2016

i can now use what Emma teached for my journalism contest

Saturday, July 23rd 2016

I got 100

Friday, August 5th 2016

I got 7 out of 10, it’s not bad. Thank you Emma for ur lesson.

Monday, August 22nd 2016

thanks very much

Saturday, September 17th 2016
Reply
Reply

Leave a Comment